Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park pamphlet and map, ca. 1888

Loading...
Thumbnail Image

Date

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title

Publisher

Abstract

A quad fold printed pamphlet of Queen Victoria Park, Niagara Falls, Ont. with a full coloured map of the park on the reverse. The brochure was printed by Alexander & Cable, Toronto.

Description

The brochure is an example of one of the earliest printed record of promotional material for the Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park. The Ontario provincial government appointed as commissioners Casimir S. Gzowski, John W. Langmuir, John A. Orchard and John G. Macdonald. James Wilson was appointed park superintendent. The park was opened in 1888, culminating in 10 years of efforts on behalf of the provincial government to bring the natural beauty and tourist destination under its control. The brochure extols the natural features of the 154-acre park and promotes pathways, pretty rustic bridges and a continuous view of the “Grand Rapids”. Other attractions include an under the falls experience by way of a hydraulic elevator, a bird’s eye view of the surroundings from the cupola of Table Rock House and pretty carriage rides to Dufferin Islands. Tourists were encouraged to experience the Whirlpool Rapids, and the Lundy’s Lane Battle Ground.

Citation

Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park pamphlet and map, ca. 1888, RG 946, Brock University Archives

Endorsement

Review

Supplemented By

Referenced By

Creative Commons license

Except where otherwised noted, this item's license is described as Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International